Still Philthy

2010 Pretty In Pinstripes Challenge Tracker: Entry #33 – 5/12/10 – Yankees @ Tigers



Unbelievable. Unbe-[expletive]-lievable. How amazing is Phil Hughes?!
I knew he would be a great starter, but never in my wildest dreams did I imagine that Phil Hughes would be leading all of Major League Baseball in the middle of May. This young man is 5-0 in six starts, with 39 strikeouts in 39 innings pitched, and has only given up one home run! Not to mention his ERA is an unbelievable 1.38! 
Jesus Christ, Phil Hughes, talk about showing the haters what’s up.
I didn’t think I’d be saying this in 2010, but Phil Hughes is currently our Ace. Not only is he the best star
ter in our rotation, but he is the best starter in all of baseball! Words fail me as I try to describe his amazing start to the season. My mind is a complete blur. What more can I say about a pitcher who as been absolutely lights-out so far?
He already has five wins, if he only wins eight more, he’ll have as many wins in our fifth spot, as our second starter had last season. I don’t see why he’ll slow down. Will he win every game he starts all year? Probably not. Will he finish the season with a 1.38 ERA? Highly unlikely. But we couldn’t have dreamed of such an amazing start to the season from our young pitcher.
He is really living up to the name “Phil Franchise”
What I would like to know is, where did all those fans who said he belongs in the bullpen disappear to? I remember, in Spring Training, when many people were saying that he needed to stay in the bullpen, because he was lights out as a bullpen arm in 2009. 
Why fix what isn’t broken? 
THIS IS WHY YOU FIX WHAT ISN’T BROKEN! 
Are you now aware of what I’ve been saying all along? Do me a favor and go back to my posts in the offseason and Spring Training, I’ve been saying that Phil Hughes will be a great starter the entire time. I’ve actually been saying it for a couple of years, but I’ve only been blogging for a few months.
Can you imagine the opportunity we would have missed out on, if Joe Girardi listened to fans when making his decisions about our rotation? Phil would have been in the bullpen, and Joba or Aceves would have been in the rotation. Aceves is injured already, and Joba is lights-out in the bullpen. So not only would we have missed out on Hughes’ amazing starts, but we would have also missed out on Joba’s domination of his relief role.
Seriously, there’s nothing more to say about how amazing Phil Hughes is. I sound like a broken record. Every start of his, I say the same thing. Phil Hughes is absolutely PHILTHY.



You can find Beeeebzy’s blog entries and more at 161st-and-River.com.


Leave a comment